Leanbean in Germany

Military wife trying to figure out this military life

APO August 17, 2009

Filed under: Germany,Military — leanbean @ 7:49 pm

A great thing about living overseas is we are able to receive packages via the United States Post Office or via APO (Army Post Office).  If I want my Gnu fiber bars, which they don’t have at the Commissary, I am able to order them online and have them in Germany within about a week.  There is a size and weight limit to what we can send.  Furniture and what not obviously is not going to be shipped over here via the post office but I was able to ship my 32″ flat panel TV, which my husband plays video games on non-stop.  

APO shipping was not something I was familiar with before moving here and apparently a guy in customer service SHIPPING DIVISION for Restoration Hardware hadn’t either.

“Hi, I’m trying to order a lamp shade on your site but it told me to call.  I need the …My address is PSC # Box ### APO AE.”

“What is APO.  What state is that?”

“It’s not a state, it’s for the military.  I live in Germany.”

“Oh, I’m sorry ma’am but we don’t ship internationally.”

“I know.  I’m not asking you to ship internationally.”

“Ok, so where do you want to ship it?”

“APO AE.”

“I’m sorry ma’am, but where is that?”

“Germany but it’s a military address.”

It went on like that for ten minutes.  I explained to him that Restoration Hardware only ships their item to New York and the military takes care of the rest.  You would think someone who works in the shipping section of customer service would know what APO is but I guess that is asking too much.  Eventually, he asked his manager after saying “I’m pretty sure we don’t ship there but I’ll ask my manager.”  After being on hold for a while he came back, apologized for being a moron and my lamp shade arrived less than a month later.  

I honestly do not know what I would do without APO shipping.

 

Leave a Reply

