Leanbean in Germany

Military wife trying to figure out this military life

The Bed July 2, 2009

Filed under: Decorating,Germany — leanbean @ 9:43 am

A city called Mannheim is about 45 minutes to an hour away.  There, you can find Ikea, Ligne Roset and Bo Concept to name a few.  During one of my many jaunts to the city to look at furniture I came across a small furniture store.  Inside there was a magnificent bed.  It was the most gorgeous bed I had ever seen – tufted leather in gunmetal.  It was both feminie and masculine and I had to have it.  After leaving the store, I immediately phoned Joe and let me him know about my find.  His reaction, “Our bed is brand new!”  Ok fine, our bed is brand new, but it could always go in the guest room.

The bed, taken with an iphone.  The pictures do not do it justice.  The leather has gold flecks in it, which makes it almost sparkle.

Bed

Bed2

About a week later, Becca and I decided to take a shopping trip to Mannheim.  I told her I needed to stop by this store and find out how much they wanted for the gorgeous bed.  We went upstairs looking for a tag but couldn’t find one.  Eventually we made our way back downstairs to politely ask how much.  The saleswoman sounded as if she said “8,000”.  I look at Becca with wide eyes and mouth “8,000!”

She looks at the woman, “You said 8,000?”

“No, no, no!” she says in a thick accent.  “11,000 euros.”

That is almost $15,000!  For a bed!  You can buy a brand new car for that!  I shed a tear and left, knowing I would never, ever be able to justify spending that much money on a leather headboard.  Gotta love Europe!

 

Leave a Reply

